Variable costing (also known as direct costing or marginal costing) excludes the fixed manufacturing overhead in its calculation of per unit product cost. Revenue will often be the same under the conditions of variable costing and (its alternative) absorption costing (also known as full costing or traditional costing). The difference will be in how the per unit cost in calculated.
The expenses here are:
direct materials: $4/unit
direct labor: $3/unit
variable manufacturing overhead: $2/unit
variable selling and administrative costs: $ 1/unit
fixed manufacturing overhead: $25,000
fixed selling and administrative costs: $10,000
The equation for net operating income under variable costing is:
net sales revenue - variable costs - fixed costs = operating income.
The difference between the net operating income and the variable costs is often called the "contribution margin."
So, we have:
(4,600 units * $30/unit) - (5,000 units * $10/unit) - ($25,000 fixed manufacturing overhead + $10,000 fixed selling and administrative costs) = $53,000 operating income.
No comments:
Post a Comment